Nebraska State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 66 hours
Colibri Real Estate Nebraska Course Hours Offered: 66 hours
Step 1. Meet Nebraska real estate license requirements as outlined by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission website:
- Be at least 19 years old at date of license issuance
- Have a high school diploma, GED, or evidence of participation or enrollment in a homeschool program from the Department of Education
Step 2. Complete 66 hours (3 courses) of approved Nebraska real estate pre-license education.
- 30-hour Nebraska License Law
- 30-hour Real Estate Principles & Practices
- 6-hour Developing Professional Conduct and Ethical Practices
Step 3. Apply for your Nebraska license.
Step 4. Complete a criminal background check and fingerprinting procedure.
Step 5. Successfully pass the state and national portions of the real estate salesperson licensing examination by earning a score of 75% or higher.
How long does it take to get a Nebraska real estate license?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Nebraska real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 66 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process, and application and background check processing times. It is currently taking four to six weeks, on average, after submitting fingerprints for the background check report to be received by the Commission.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Nebraska?
All Colibri Real Estate courses are approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Nebraska Real Estate License Exam.
Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 66-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider. A 30-hour Nebraska License Law course, a 30-hour Nebraska Real Estate Principles & Practices course, and a 6-hour Developing Professional Conduct and Ethical Practices course make up the 66 hours of pre-licensing education. Per the state, applicants must complete the courses within one (1) year of the enrollment date.
How do I submit my Nebraska Salesperson application?
Completed applications, fees, and all required documentation must be submitted to the Commission. The staff of the Real Estate Commission will process the application materials, prequalify applicants, and notify applicants of approval to sit for the examination. You will find the application and instructions at https://nrec.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms/salesinfo.html Upon receiving the application, the Commission will return fingerprint cards with instructions for the applicant. The fingerprint cards sent are necessary as they carry a code authorizing the Real Estate Commission to receive the reports.
Applications for issuance of an original or renewal license on active status will not be approved until the Real Estate Commission Office has received proof that the applicant obtained Errors & Omissions (E & O) insurance coverage. An enrollment form and additional information on the Commission’s group plan, as well as an Errors and Omissions Fact Sheet and Certification of Equivalent Coverage Form, will be sent to applicants when they have been approved to take the examination.
How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
The Nebraska Real Estate License Act requires all applicants for original licensure as a real estate salesperson to undergo a criminal background check utilizing fingerprints. This includes both resident and nonresident applicants.The license application must be completed, signed and on file at the Commission office before the fingerprint cards, used to complete the background report, will be released to the applicant. Your application will not be considered complete until all required materials are supplied to the Commission including the criminal background report. It is currently taking four to six weeks, on average, after submitting your fingerprints for the report to be received by the Commission. Please follow the recommended procedures attached to the fingerprint cards to submit both completed cards to the Nebraska State Patrol.
How do I apply for and take the Nebraska Salesperson licensing examination?
The salesperson examination must be registered and taken through www.psiexams.com. After an applicant has submitted a completed application to sit for the state and national portions of the licensing examination and received notification of his/her eligibility from the Nebraska Real Estate Commission, you will receive an email confirmation from PSI. Your examination registration remains valid for 12 months after it has been processed by the Commission. If you have allowed your examination registration to expire, you need to reapply through the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. After passing your examination, submit your pass-score/application form(s), your license fee (the fees are listed on the Fee Schedule) and proof of Errors and Omissions insurance.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You will need to submit your certificate of completion with your license application. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Roster: A list of applicants who have successfully completed a course is sent to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission on the first business day of each month. The list contains all those who completed a course within the previous month.
Roster Sent: Every 30 days
Nebraska Real Estate Commission
Phone: (402) 471-2004
Fax: (402) 471-4492
Address: 301 Centennial Mall South P.O. Box 94667 Lincoln, NE 68509