How To Get Your Real Estate License In Florida

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get Florida Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Florida, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Florida real estate license requirements.

45 Mandatory Hours
0 Elective Hours
45 Total Hours
Shop Courses

Here's what you need to renew your Florida Real Estate license

The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.

Florida Real Estate: All (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 14
Mandatory Hours: 6
Elective Hours: 8
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
License Expiration Date: 09/30/2022
Education Cycle in Months: 24
Next Education Due Date: 09/30/2022

Online Info

Continuing Education and Renewal Dates: every 24 months on either March 31st or September 30th.  

Agency Emergency Orders
09.28.2022 DBPR EMERGENCY ORDER 2022-01 extends the renewal deadline from September 30 or October 1, 2022, to October 31, 2022, for the following licenses:
    â€¢Real Estate: Sales Associates, Broker Sales Associates, Brokers, Corporate Brokers, Partnerships, and Corporations and Branch Offices;
Licenses renewed on or before October 31, 2022 shall be considered as timely renewals and will not be assessed any late fees.


-License expiration dates vary depending on initial licensure date. License renewals are every 24 months on either 3/31 or 9/30 beginning with the year in which the license was first issued.

Hours Required by FREC: 14 hours

-6 mandatory hours
    -3-hour Core Law course
    -3-hour Ethics and Business Practices course
-8 elective hours

Post-Licensure Education Requirement: The initial renewal of a Sales Associate  license requires the passing of 45 hours of post-license education.  The initial renewal of a Broker license requires the passing of 60 hours of post license education.  Failure to comply with first renewal requirements by the license expiration date will result in a null and void license status.


Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary but are generally 6 months after enrollment date.

Final Exam: FREC permits only one attempt to pass the course final examination with a score of at least 80%. If the exam is failed, the licensee must retake the entire course including the exam.

Certificate: With few exceptions, online course completion certificates are available for download at course conclusion and posted directly to your student dashboard. 

Online Limitations

There is no limit to the number of CE hours that may be taken online.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Due to the renewal period approaching, rosters will be processed daily through 10/7/2022.

Rosters are submitted electronically every Friday. It can take up to 24 hrs. to reflect on student's online account after submission.
 
*If your education is posted after your renewal date, your license status will go to involuntary/active. Once hours have been completed and reported/posted, your license status will be updated to current/active as long as the appropriate fees are paid. Licensees are not able to practice under the involuntary/active status. **If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.
Phone: 8504871395
Fax: 8504888040
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, 32399

Florida Real Estate: Broker (Pre-Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 72
Mandatory Hours: 72
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

As a condition of licensure, brokers must successfully complete a 72-Hour Pre Licensure Course based on the FREC II syllabus and pass the required end of course exam. Applicants must take and pass the broker licensing examination within 24 months of course completion.

All newly licensed brokers must complete 60 hours or two 30-hour approved broker post licensure courses and required course exams within their first renewal period (18-24 months after initial licensure).

Online Limitations

According to the Florida Division of Real Estate a minimum grade of 70% is required in order to pass the final exam. If you fail the final exam, you must wait 30 days to retest. You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam.

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.
Phone: 8504871395
Fax: 8504888040
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, 32399

Florida Real Estate: Broker (Post Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 60
Mandatory Hours: 60
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

All applicants for licensure who pass a broker licensure examination must satisfactorily complete a Commission-prescribed post-licensing course prior to the first renewal following initial licensure.

For a broker, the post-licensing education requirement shall consist of one or more Commission-approved courses which shall not exceed 60 hours of 50 minutes each, inclusive of examination.

Online Limitations

According to the Florida Division of Real Estate a minimum grade of 75% is required in order to pass the final exam for post-licensing education.  You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Rosters are submitted electronically every business day for the previous day's completions (ex. Monday completions are reported on Tuesdays; Friday, Saturday, and Sunday completions are reported on Mondays, etc.)

**If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**
Roster Sent: Every 1 days

Governing Agency

Name: Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.
Phone: 8504871395
Fax: 8504888040
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, 32399

Florida Real Estate: Sales Agent (Post Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 45
Mandatory Hours: 45
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

All applicants for licensure who pass a sales associate licensure examination must satisfactorily complete a Commission-prescribed post-licensing course prior to the first renewal following initial licensure.

For a licensed sales associate, the post-licensing education requirement shall consist of one or more Commission-approved courses which shall not exceed 45 hours of 50 minutes each, inclusive of examination. The license of any sales associate who does not complete the postlicensure education requirement prior to the first renewal following initial licensure shall be considered null and void. Such person wishing to again operate as a real estate sales associate must requalify by satisfactorily completing the sales associate's prelicensure course and passing the state examination for licensure as a sales associate.

Online Limitations

According to the Florida Division of Real Estate a minimum grade of 75% is required in order to pass the final exam for post-licensing education.  You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Rosters are submitted electronically every business day for the previous day's completions (ex. Monday completions are reported on Tuesdays; Friday, Saturday, and Sunday completions are reported on Mondays, etc.)

**If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**
Roster Sent: Every 1 days

Governing Agency

Name: Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.
Phone: 8504871395
Fax: 8504888040
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, 32399

Florida Real Estate: Sales Associate (Pre-Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 63
Mandatory Hours: 63
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

  1. Step 1. Meet Florida real estate license requirements.You must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED in order to become licensed in Florida.
  2. Step 2. Complete 63 classroom-hours of pre-licensing courses. - Enroll Today
  3. Step 3. Submit the appropriate paperwork and pass the licensing exam.
    • Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee
    • Pass the Florida Real Estate Agent Exam with a grade of at least 75 out of 100 points or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30 out of 40 points.
    • Activate your Florida real estate license using the DBPR RE 11 Become Active – Sales Associate or BrokerSales Associate form, OR
    • Have your employing broker activate your new license online using the broker’s online account.
  4. Step 4. Successfully complete a post-licensing course for sales associates consisting of at least 45 classroom-hours, before your initial sales license expires. Even if your license is inactive, you will still need to complete the post-licensing course before the license expires.

Online Limitations

According to the Florida Division of Real Estate a minimum grade of 70% is required in order to pass the final exam. If you fail the final exam, you must wait 30 days to retest. You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam.

Roster

No roster required

Governing Agency

Name: Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.
Phone: 8504871395
Fax: 8504888040
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, 32399

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.