Georgia State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 75 hours
Colibri Real Estate Georgia Course Hours Offered: 75 hours
Step 1. Meet Georgia real estate license requirements as outlined by the Georgia Real Estate Commission:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a high school diploma or GED
Step 2. Meet ONE of the three following Georgia real estate license educational requirements:
- Complete the required 75-hour Salesperson pre-license course
- Complete a minimum of 10 quarter hours or six semester hours of coursework eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university or successfully complete a course in real property, agency, or contracts from a U.S. or Canadian accredited school of law along with official transcript to determine acceptability of coursework.
- Provide proof you completed at least 75 hours of pre-license course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada along with a letter from the agency that verifies that the course work is approved in that state or province.
Step 3. Pass a background check.
Step 4. Register for and pass the real estate licensing examination by earning a score of 72% or higher.
Step 5. Obtain sponsorship from a licensed Georgia broker.
Step 6. Apply for your Georgia salesperson license.
Step 7. Complete a 25-hour post-license course.
How long does it take to get a Georgia real estate license?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Georgia real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 75 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process, and application and background check processing times.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Georgia?
All Colibri Real Estate Courses are approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Georgia Real Estate License Exam.
Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 75-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider. The state requires that your course final exam be proctored. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here. After passing the final course exam you will be required to sign an affidavit to verify your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.
How do I complete the background check?
No more than 60 days prior to applying for your license, each applicant at his/her own expense shall obtain a certified criminal history report issued by the Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. You may obtain a GCIC report at most sheriff’s offices or police stations in Georgia. If the report indicates any crime convictions or sanctions by any licensing or regulatory agency, then the Commission will conduct an investigation and decide whether or not to issue the license.
How do I apply for and take the Georgia Salesperson licensing examination?
You may apply for the examination online at https://candidate.psiexams.com/. If you are 17 years old, you may sit for the exam, however, the license cannot be activated until you are 18. The state requires a score of 72% to pass your licensing exam and that your licensing exam be proctored. Additional information on the state licensing exam proctoring process can be found here.
How do I submit my Georgia Salesperson application?
Persons applying for a salesperson’s license must apply within twelve (12) months of the date they took the licensing examination. If the twelve month period has passed, they must retake the examination. A Sponsoring Broker Statement Form signed by a licensed Georgia broker must be included with your application to verify that you are to work on behalf of that brokerage firm. Be sure that the form includes the correct brokerage firm number – NOT the personal license number of the broker. Learn more about how to find a sponsoring broker.
Does Georgia require post-licensing education?
Salespersons must take a 25-hour post-license course within their first year of licensure. Failure to complete a post-license course during the first year of being licensed will cause the license to lapse. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance for your post-license course final exam. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here. After passing the final course exam you will be required to sign an affidavit to verify your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.
Enroll in Colibri Real Estate’s Georgia 25-hour post-license course today!
It is required that Colibri Real Estate report course completions to the Georgia Real Estate Commission within seven (7) to ten (10) days from the course completion date. Colibri Real Estate ensures that all course completions will be reported within this time frame.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You may need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Roster Process: Rosters are submitted electronically every business day. Rosters are not submitted until information from the proctored course final exam has been verified and accepted.
Rosters Sent: Every 1 days
Georgia Real Estate Commission
Address: 229 Peachtree Street, N.E., International Tower, Suite 1000, Atlanta GA
Georgia License Lookup Website