South Carolina Real Estate License Requirements
How To Get Your Real Estate License In South Carolina
Whether you’re exploring a new career or preparing for another year of market success, get the education you need from a reliable, established real estate school. With Colibri Real Estate, expect an education partner for life — and nothing less. We’re here to guide you, no matter what part of the path you’re on. Learn more about South Carolina’s real estate license requirements.
How To Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License In South Carolina
South Carolina State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 90 hours
Colibri Real Estate South Carolina Course Hours Offered: 90 hours
Step 1. Meet South Carolina real estate license requirements as outlined on the South Carolina Real Estate Commission website:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a high school diploma or GED
- Must be lawfully present and eligible to work in the United States
Step 2. Complete approved 60-hour pre-licensing course (Unit I).
Step 3. Apply for exam eligibility.
Step 4. Pass a background check.
Step 5. Successfully pass both portions of the real estate license exam by earning a score of 70% or higher on both portions of the examination.
Step 6. Complete additional approved 30 hours of Advanced Real Estate Principles (Unit II) education.
Step 7. Obtain sponsorship from a South Carolina real estate broker-in-charge.
Step 8. Apply for the South Carolina salesperson license.
How long does it take to get a South Carolina real estate license?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get a South Carolina real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process and find a sponsoring broker, and application and background check processing times. Background checks can take up to sixteen weeks.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in South Carolina?
All Colibri Real Estate courses are approved by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the South Carolina Real Estate Salesperson License Exam.
You must complete the 60-hour Unit I pre-license course before you apply to take the South Carolina license examination (both state and national portions). Before you apply for a license you will also need to complete the 30-hour Advanced Real Estate Principles (Unit II) education. The Unit II requirement does not need to be completed prior to taking the licensing exam, however, the courses must be completed before a license will be issued.
The real estate coursework includes instruction in real estate law and practice, South Carolina contracts and regulations, knowledge regarding loans, current legal issues, real estate closings, and property management. The state requires that your course final exam be proctored. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with a proctor in advance. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here. Before entering the final course exam you will be required to sign an affidavit to verify your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.
VIEW COURSES AND PACKAGES
How do I apply for and take the South Carolina Salesperson licensing examination?
License candidates must submit an Exam Application for Real Estate to the Real Estate Commission prior to registering with PSI for an examination. Once the candidate is approved, they will receive an Examination Eligibility letter from the Commission. Examination Eligibility is valid for one (1) year.
Candidates must register for the licensing emxation (both the state and national portions) online by accessing PSI’s registration website at www.psiexams.com. If the examination is failed, the candidate may retest on an unlimited basis during the one (1) year period. If your Examination Eligibility has expired, you will need to reapply to the Commission before you can register to take or retake the examination with PSI.
How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
Effective July 1, 2020, all applicants for initial Salesperson licensure with the South Carolina Real Estate Commission will be required to obtain state and national fingerprint-based criminal records checks from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). Cost of conducting the criminal records must be borne by the applicant.
For any applications submitted after June 30, 2020, instructions will be provided after the initial application is received on how to obtain your fingerprint background checks. The Commission cannot use background checks that were obtained for other licensing, security clearance or weapons permitting purposes. After your application is reviewed, a specific South Carolina Real Estate Commission identifier will be provided along with instructions for your fingerprinting.
How do I submit my South Carolina Salesperson application?
Within one year after passing the examination, the applicant must be sponsored by a broker-in-charge and apply for a license, which is mailed to the broker-in-charge. Learn more about finding a sponsoring broker. Prior to applying for licensure, an applicant is required to complete 30-hour Advanced Real Estate Principles (Unit II) education. Applicants must submit proof of pre-license education completion (Unit I and Unit II courses), a license fee of $50, exam score report, and license application provided by PSI.
Does South Carolina offer reciprocity?
All applicants must meet the requirements outlined previously for residents as to age, education, and experience. Non-resident licensees wishing to apply for a South Carolina salesperson license must do the following:
- Apply for and take the South Carolina portion of the real estate examination.
- Submit certification(s) of licensure from any jurisdiction(s) in which they have held licensure in the last five (5) years.
- Have been licensed within six (6) months prior to submitting their South Carolina application.
Resident applicants with licenses in other jurisdictions who have been residents for more than 6 months cannot qualify to take the South Carolina examination with just a certification of licensure from another jurisdiction. The resident applicant will also need to complete the 30 hours of Advanced Real Estate Principles (Unit II) education.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You will need to submit your certificate of completion with your real estate exam application. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Good to Know
The information provided is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board’s site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state’s requirements.
Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.