Florida Real Estate License Requirements

Whether you’re exploring a new career or preparing for another year of market success, get the education you need from a reliable, established real estate school. With Colibri Real Estate, expect an education partner for life — and nothing less. We’re here to guide you, no matter what part of the path you’re on. Learn more about Florida’s real estate license requirements.

florida real estate requirements

How To Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License In Florida

Florida State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 63 hours
Colibri Real Estate Florida Course Hours Offered: 63 hours

Step 1. Meet Florida real estate license requirements as outlined by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or GED

Step 2. Complete the 63-hour pre-licensing course.

Step 3. Pass the Florida real estate license exam with a score of at least 75%.

Step 4. Submit your fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.

Step 5. Complete the 45-hour post-licensing course.

How long does it take to get a Florida real estate license?

It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Florida real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 63 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process and post-license course, and application and background check processing times.

What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Florida?

All Colibri Real Estate Courses are approved by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Florida Real Estate License Exam.

Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 63-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider. Course final exams must be passed with a minimum of 70%. If you fail the examination, you must wait at least 30 days from the date of the original exam to retake your test. Students who fail the end of course exam twice must repeat the course before becoming eligible to take the end of course examination a third time. 

The course completion is good for two (2) years from the date of completion. An expired course will not be accepted at the exam site and you will not be able to sit for your exam without proof of a valid course completion slip. The course is not required at the time of application submission. You may submit application for state exam approval prior to taking the pre-license education.

How do I apply for and take the Florida Salesperson licensing examination?

Candidates must apply to the Florida Division of Real Estate (DRE) for authorization before they may make an examination reservation. Once the candidate’s application has been approved by the DRE, Pearson VUE will send the candidate an official authorization letter. The candidate is then eligible to make an examination reservation. You are required to pass the state licensing exam with a score of 75% or higher. 

How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?

Applicants can use any Livescan vendor that has been approved by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement to submit their fingerprints to the department. It is suggested that you submit your fingerprints using a Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) approved Livescan Device Vendor at least five (5) days prior to submitting your application for licensure. This will allow sufficient time for FDLE to process your fingerprints and submit the results to the Department. Learn more about approved vendors and the fingerprinting process.

How do I submit my Florida Salesperson application?

Along with proof of pre-licensing course completion, a passing score on the state licensing exam, and submission of fingerprints, applicants can apply for their real estate license through the DPBR Online Services portal.

Does Florida require post-licensing education? 

Before the expiration of your initial sales license, you must successfully complete a 45-hour post-licensing course. Even if your license is inactive, you will still need to complete the post-licensing course before the license expires. According to the Florida Division of Real Estate, a minimum grade of 75% is required in order to pass the final exam for post-licensing education. You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice, you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam. 

Enroll in Colibri Real Estate’s Florida 45-hour post-license course today!

Does Florida offer reciprocity?

Florida has mutual recognition with the following states: 

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • Rhode Island
  • West Virginia

Brokers and Salespersons can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • Must not be a resident of Florida at time of application
  • Have met the education and examination requirements of the state with which Florida has mutual recognition

Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination as well as be required to complete post-license education (45 hours for Sales Associates and 60 hours for Brokers) prior to your initial expiration date listed on your Florida license.

Regulatory Notes:

Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You may need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.

Roster: Rosters are submitted electronically every business day for the previous day’s completions.
Roster Sent: Every 1 days

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate
Website: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/real-estate-commission/
Phone: 850-487-1395
Fax: 850-488-8040
Address: 400 West Robinson Street, N801, Orlando, FL 32801
Florida License Lookup Website
Read More

Good to Know

The information provided is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board’s site.

If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state’s requirements.

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.