Missouri Real Estate License Requirements

How To Get Your Real Estate License In Missouri

Whether you’re exploring a new career or preparing for another year of market success, get the education you need from a reliable, established real estate school. With Colibri Real Estate, expect an education partner for life — and nothing less. We’re here to guide you, no matter what part of the path you’re on. Learn more about Missouri’s real estate license requirements.

Missouri real estate requirements

How To Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License In Missouri

Missouri State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 48 hours + 24-hour Real Estate Practice (MREP) Course
Colibri Real Estate Missouri Course Hours Offered: 48 hours + 24-hour Real Estate Practice (MREP) Course

Step 1. Meet Missouri real estate license requirements as outlined on the Missouri Real Estate Commission website:

  • Be at least 18 years old

Step 2. Show evidence of being fingerprinted through the approved statewide vendor.

Step 3. Complete the approved 48-hour Missouri pre-exam salesperson course.

Step 4. Complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) Course.

Step 5. Pass both portions of the real estate licensing examination by earning a minimum score of 70% on the national portion and 75% on the state portion.

Step 6. File your Missouri real estate salesperson license application.

How long does it take to get a Missouri real estate license?

It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Missouri real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 72 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process, and application and background check processing times.

What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Missouri?

All Colibri Real Estate courses are approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Missouri Real Estate License Exam.

Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 48-hour and 24-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider. The 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course must be completed on or before your licensing exam date. Only the 48-hour pre-licensing course must be complete before the state licensing exam can be taken. The 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) Course can be completed before or after taking the licensing exam but must be taken AFTER successful completion of the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course.

The 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course includes instruction in real estate law, types of interest and ownership in real estate, home ownership, legal descriptions, titles, liens, taxes, encumbrances, listing advertising, appraisal, finance, closings, and professional code of ethics. The 24-hour MREP Course includes instruction in the Broker Disclosure Form, listing a property, buyer representation, acting as a dual agent or transaction broker, termination of brokerage relationships, compensation, contracts, avoiding misrepresentation, and more.

How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?

There are certain convictions that result in an automatic denial of a real estate license. All applicants for an original Missouri license are required to be fingerprinted for a Missouri and federal criminal history background check. The current statewide vendor is IDEMIA (IDENTOGO). To be fingerprinted, you must first register with the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) at www.machs.mo.gov or by calling 1-844-543-9712. You will need to provide the MREC’s four-digit registration number, 0004, in order to register to be fingerprinted. This will authorize the Missouri State Highway Patrol and the FBI to send the results to the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

How do I take the Missouri Salesperson licensing examination?

The examination must be taken through PSI. The Missouri Licensing Exam must be passed with a minimum score of 70% on the national portion and 75% on the state portion. Those who pass one portion of the examination and fail the other, need to retake only the failed portion of the exam. Applicants will have six (6) months after satisfactory completion of the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course within which to pass both portions of the licensing examination, complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) course, and apply for their license. After this six (6) month period, credit for the courses and examination will expire, and the required courses and examination must be repeated before applying for licensure.

How do I submit my Missouri Salesperson application?

You must submit your Missouri real estate license to the Commission within six (6) months of completing the required 48-hour pre-licensing course and after completing the 24-hour MREP course and passing your state licensing exam.

Does Missouri offer reciprocity?

If an individual holds a current and active salesperson license in another state/jurisdiction at the time they apply for a Missouri salesperson license, they must pass the STATE portion of the Missouri salesperson exam and take the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) Course. The MREP course can be taken before or after the exam date, but must be taken prior to applying for licensure. The 48-hour Missouri salesperson pre-examination course is not required. Application for licensure must be submitted to the MREC within six (6) months of passing the STATE portion of the Missouri salesperson exam.

A license (history) certification issued within three (3) months from the real estate commission of the state/jurisdiction from where applying must be provided with the application for licensure. A copy of the license is not acceptable. Certifications that are more than three months old, or do not reflect that the individual holds a current and active license, will cause the application to be deemed incomplete.

Obtaining a Missouri salesperson license as an attorney: A licensed attorney does not need to complete the education requirements but must pass BOTH portions of the Missouri salesperson examination (education requirements are waived). A complete application for license must be submitted within six (6) months of passing the exam. If both portions of the exam are not passed in one sitting, the application for license must be submitted within six (6) months of the first passing exam score. A copy of your current Bar card must be provided with the application for licensure.

Regulatory Notes:

Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the pre-license education courses (both the 48-hour and 24-hour courses), Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You will need to submit your certificate of completion with your license application. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.

Roster: Rosters are emailed to the Real Estate Commission weekly on Tuesdays for students who have completed courses from the previous Tuesday through Monday.
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Missouri Real Estate Commission
Website: https://pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp
Phone: 573-751-2628
Fax: 573-751-2777
Address: 3605 Missouri Boulevard P.O. Box 1339, Jefferson City, MO 65102
Read More

Good to Know

The information provided is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Missouri Real Estate Commission. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board’s site.

If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state’s requirements.

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.