Florida State Required Broker Licensing Hours: 72 hours
Colibri Real Estate Florida Course Hours Offered: 72 hours
Step 1. Meet Florida real estate license requirements as outlined by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a United States Social Security number
Step 2. Meet the experience requirement.
Step 3. Submit a certificate of license history if necessary.
Step 4. Complete the 72-hour broker course.
Step 5. Pass the Florida broker license exam with a score of at least 75%.
Step 6. Submit your fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement.
Step 7. Complete the 60-hour broker post-licensing course.
How long does it take to get a Florida broker license?
Once you have met the experience requirements, it varies per person on how long it takes to get a Florida broker license depending on the pace in which you complete the 72 hours of licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process and post-license course, and application processing times.
What experience is required to obtain a Florida broker license?
Broker applicants must show proof of one of the following:
- Has been registered as an active sales associate for at least 24 months during the preceding 5 years under one or more brokers
- Has held a current and valid real estate sales associate’s license for at least 24 months during the preceding 5 years in the employ of a governmental agency for a salary and performing the duties authorized in Chapter 475, F.S
- Has held a current and valid real estate broker’s license for at least 24 months during the preceding 5 years in any other state, territory, or jurisdiction of the United States, or in any foreign national jurisdiction
Submitting a Certificate of License History: A current certification of license history from the state you are claiming experience from is required if experience is coming from a state other than Florida. The history must contain your initial license exam type, current license status, disciplinary information, and how many active months within the preceding five years.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate broker license in Florida?
All Colibri Real Estate Courses are approved by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Florida Broker Licensing Exam.
Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 72-hour licensing coursework for brokers must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. According to the Florida Division of Real Estate a minimum grade of 70% is required in order to pass the final exam. If you fail the final exam, you must wait 30 days to retest. You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam. The course completion is good for two (2) years from the date of completion.
How do I apply for and take the Florida Broker licensing examination?
An expired licensing course will not be accepted at the exam site and you will not be able to sit for your exam without proof of a valid course completion slip. The course is not required at the time of application submission. You may submit application for state exam approval prior to taking the licensing education. Applicants must take and pass the broker licensing examination within 24 months of course completion and obtain a score of 75% or higher.
How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
Applicants can use any Livescan vendor that has been approved by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement to submit their fingerprints to the department. It is suggested that you submit your fingerprints using a Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) approved Livescan Device Vendor at least five (5) days prior to submitting your application for licensure. This will allow sufficient time for FDLE to process your fingerprints and submit the results to the Department. Learn more about approved vendors and the fingerprinting process.
How do I submit my Florida Broker application?
Along with proof of licensing course completion, a passing score on the state broker licensing exam, and submission of fingerprints, applicants can apply for their real estate license through the DPBR Online Services portal. To complete the application using the online service, you must first set up your online account and link your current sales associate license to the account. Once that is complete, the broker application will be available.
Does Florida require post-licensing education for brokers?
All applicants for broker licensure who pass a broker licensure examination must satisfactorily complete a 60-hour post-licensing course prior to the first renewal following initial licensure. According to the Florida Division of Real Estate a minimum grade of 75% is required in order to pass the final exam for post-licensing education. You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam.
Enroll in Colibri Real Estate’s Florida 60-hour broker post-license course today!
Does Florida offer reciprocity?
Florida has mutual recognition with the following states:
- Rhode Island
Brokers and Salespersons can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:
- Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Must not be a resident of Florida at time of application
- Have met the education and examination requirements of the state with which Florida has mutual recognition
Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination as well as be required to complete post-license education (45 hours for Sales Associates and 60 hours for Brokers) prior to your initial expiration date listed on your Florida license.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You may need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Roster: Rosters are submitted electronically every business day for the previous day’s completions.
Roster Sent: Every 1 days
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate
Address: 400 West Robinson Street, N801, Orlando, FL 32801
Florida License Lookup Website