Minnesota Real Estate License Requirements
How To Get Your Real Estate License In Minnesota
Do you want to become a real estate agent and get your Minnesota Real Estate License? Colibri Real Estate has taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Minnesota, and we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Minnesota real estate license requirements.
How To Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License In Minnesota
Minnesota State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 90 hours
Colibri Real Estate Minnesota Course Hours Offered: 90 hours
Step 1. Meet Minnesota real estate license requirements as outlined on the Minnesota Department of Commerce website:
- Be at least 18 years old
Step 2. Complete the approved 90 hours of Minnesota real estate pre-licensing education: Course I, Course II, and Course III.
Step 3. Pass the real estate licensing examination by earning a minimum score of 75 on both the state and general portions.
Step 4. Obtain sponsorship from a licensed Minnesota real estate broker.
Step 5. File your Minnesota real estate license application.
How long does it take to get a Minnesota real estate license?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Minnesota real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process and find a sponsoring broker, and application processing times.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Minnesota?
All Colibri Real Estate courses are approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Minnesota Real Estate License Exam.
Per Colibri Real Estate policy, each course must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider. There are three courses that you must successfully complete before you apply for a real estate salesperson license, known as “Course I,” “Course II,” and “Course III.” You must successfully complete Course I before taking the salesperson’s examination. Course II and Course III may be completed either before or after your exam but must be completed prior to applying for your license.
Each course consists of 30 hours of instruction. Course I includes instruction on real estate basics, title closing, real estate law, basic law of contracts, principles of financing, types of classifications of property, and environmental issues. Course II includes instruction on valuation, financing applications, contracts, fair housing, and real estate specialties. Course III includes instruction on the appraisal process, property and value, economic and neighborhood analysis, site evaluation, architectural styles and utility, Cost Approach, Sales Comparison Approach, Income Approach, USPAP, and more.
The state requires that your course final exam be proctored. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here. After passing the final course exam you will be required to sign an affidavit to verify your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.
VIEW COURSES AND PACKAGES
How do I take the Minnesota Salesperson licensing examination?
Both the general and state sections of the Minnesota licensing exam must be passed with a score of 75 or higher. Those who pass one part of the examination and fail the other, need to retake only the failed portion of the exam. You must apply for your salesperson’s license within one (1) year of passing the examination. Otherwise, you will need to retake the examination and pass it again.
How do I submit my Minnesota Salesperson application?
By law you cannot become licensed as a real estate salesperson without first being associated with an actively licensed real estate broker. You must be licensed to act on behalf of a licensed broker, and you may not be licensed to act on behalf of more than one broker in Minnesota during the same period of time. You do not submit your application for a real estate salesperson license; the real estate broker that you become associated with must submit it. Once the application has been approved by the Commerce Department, your broker will be able to print out your license and inform you that you are licensed as a Minnesota real estate salesperson. Learn more about finding a sponsoring broker.
Students cannot receive credit for studying more than 8 hours per day, therefore, the proctored final exam for each 30-hour course will not be accessible until the 4th day after starting the course. The course is not considered complete until ALL of the following are true:
- Student has completed the course material and passed the proctored course final exam with a score of at least 70%.
- The school has received and accepted a copy of the signed “CE Course &/or Exam Proctor Affidavit”
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You will need to present your certificate of completion for Course I to the Pearson VUE testing center. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Roster: Rosters are uploaded twice monthly through PulsePortal on the 1st and 15th of the month (or the next business day if the 1st or the 15th fall on a weekend or a holiday) for students who have returned all required documents since the last report.
Roster Sent: Twice monthly
Minnesota Department of Commerce
Address: 85 7th Place East, Suite 280 Saint Paul, MN 55101
Good to Know
The information provided is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Minnesota Real Estate Commission. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board’s site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state’s requirements.
Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.