Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements
How To Get Your Real Estate License In Louisiana
Do you want to become a real estate agent and get your Louisiana Real Estate License? Colibri Real Estate has taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Louisiana, and we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Louisiana real estate license requirements.
How To Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License In Louisiana
Louisiana State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 90 hours
Colibri Real Estate Louisiana Course Hours Offered: 90 hours
Step 1. Meet Louisiana real estate license prerequisites as outlined on the Louisiana Real Estate Commission website:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a high school diploma or GED
Step 2. Complete an approved 90-hour Louisiana real estate pre-license course.
Step 3. Pass a criminal background check.
Step 4. Pass the real estate licensing examination by earning a score of 75% or higher.
Step 5. Obtain sponsorship from a licensed Louisiana broker.
Step 6. Provide proof of mandatory errors & omissions insurance.
Step 7. Submit the Louisiana license application.
Step 8. Complete 45 post-license education hours.
How long does it take to get a Louisiana real estate license?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Louisiana real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process and post-license course, and application and background check processing times.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Louisiana?
All Colibri Real Estate Courses are approved by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Louisiana Real Estate License Exam.
Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 90-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider.
The LREC may consider granting partial credit toward the pre-licensing requirement for courses completed more than five (5) years prior to the date of application; however, such credit will be based on the date of completion and the applicability of the subject matter to current educational requirements. Salesperson pre-licensing hours must be in specific real estate courses that include coverage of real estate principles/practices, the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency, and Civil Law pertaining to real estate.
VIEW COURSES AND PACKAGES
How do I complete the background check?
All applicants for a real estate license must provide a criminal background history, as part of the initial application process. Each individual must set up an online account with Clearbox to order their background check. The LREC suggests that you wait to order your background check until you have passed your real estate exam to avoid expiration of the results. Background checks expire 120 days after being issued. You can learn more about the background check requirement on the LREC website.
How do I take the Louisiana Salesperson licensing examination?
The licensing examination must be taken through Pearson Vue. You must submit your licensing application (Salesperson License Application Part A) directly to the LREC and receive approval for testing prior to contacting the testing service. When your documents and fees have been reviewed by the LREC, a determination will be made as to your eligibility for examination. If all documentation is acceptable and the appropriate licensing fees are paid, your information will be sent to Pearson Vue. You will receive an email confirmation from Pearson Vue with instructions for paying and scheduling. Fees paid to the LREC do not include the examination fee. This fee must be paid separately to Pearson Vue. The examination eligibility is effective for ninety (90) days from the date of issuance and authorizes you to take the examination for one time only.
How do I submit my Louisiana Salesperson application?
All active licensees are mandated to carry errors and omissions insurance. For more information on errors and omissions insurance, visit the Louisiana Real Estate Commissions website. After the successful completion of the licensing exam along with proof of E&O Insurance, applicants will submit their Salesperson License Application Part B which includes proof of broker sponsorship. Learn more about finding a sponsoring broker.
Does Louisiana require post-licensing education?
Active licensees must complete the required 45-hour post license course for salespersons within the first 180 days of licensure in order to be issued an original (permanent) license.
NOTE: Colibri Real Estate does not currently offer the Louisiana 45-hour post-license course.
Does Louisiana offer reciprocity?
Louisiana currently has agreements with the following states:
- New Mexico
The reciprocal application process in Louisiana is done on a license for a license basis, which means that you can only obtain the same license type that you currently hold in your resident state. Reciprocal license applicants must:
- Order a Certified License History from their current resident state and any other states where they are currently, or have been previously, licensed.
- Send License History to the LREC along with the Salesperson License Application Part A and the Salesperson and Associate Broker “Part B” (Sponsorship Affidavit)
- Order a background check from the LREC website and turn in proof/payment of Errors and Omissions Insurance coverage.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Course completions are reported directly through the Commission. Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You may need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Louisiana Real Estate Commission
Phone: (225) 925-1923
Address: 9071 Interline Ave. Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Louisiana License Lookup Website
Good to Know
The information provided is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board’s site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state’s requirements.
Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.