Kentucky Real Estate License Requirements
How To Get Your Real Estate License In Kentucky
Do you want to become a real estate agent and get your Kentucky Real Estate License? Colibri Real Estate has taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Kentucky, and we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Kentucky real estate license requirements.
How To Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License In Kentucky
Kentucky State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 96 hours
Colibri Real Estate Kentucky Course Hours Offered: 96 hours
Step 1. Meet Kentucky real estate license requirements as outlined on the Kentucky Real Estate Commission website:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a high school diploma or GED
Step 2. Complete the approved 96-hour Kentucky real estate pre-license course or complete 6 credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college.
Step 3. Complete and pass an FBI criminal background check.
Step 4. Pass the real estate licensing examination by earning a minimum score of 75%.
Step 5. File your Kentucky real estate license application.
Step 6. Complete the required 48 hours of post-license courses.
How long does it take to get a Kentucky real estate license?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Kentucky real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 96 hours of pre-licensing coursework. Colibri Real Estate’ online platform allows you to complete your coursework as quickly as you want within the maximum daily seat time requirements. You should also allow 12-16 weeks for your background check to process.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Kentucky?
All Colibri Real Estate Courses are approved by the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Kentucky Real Estate License Exam.
Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 96-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider.
The state requires proctoring of your final course exam. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here. After passing the final course exam you will be required to sign an affidavit to verify your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.
VIEW COURSES AND PACKAGES
How do I take the Kentucky Salesperson licensing examination?
Prior to taking the state licensing exam, applicants must complete a criminal background check. Both the general and state sections of the Kentucky Licensing Exam must be passed with a score of 75% of higher. If a student does not pass the first time, they are permitted to retake the exam twice.
Candidates who pass one portion of the Kentucky Salesperson exam (national or state law) and fail the other portion may retake the failed portion within four (4) months of passing the first portion. After 4 months of the initial testing date, both portions must be retaken. Once both portions have been passed, within the required 4 month period, a candidate will be given the application form at the testing center. The state requires proctoring of your licensing exam. Additional information on the licensing exam proctoring process can be found here.
How do I submit my Kentucky Salesperson application?
Your Kentucky real estate license application must be submitted to the Commission within sixty (60) days of passing your real estate exam. After 60 days, the entire exam is voided and must be retaken.
Does Kentucky require post-licensing education?
A licensed salesperson shall be required to complete 48 hours of post-licensing courses within 2 years of receiving their license. The 48 hours of post-licensing courses consist of 32 mandatory hours and 16 elective hours.
Enroll in Colibri Real Estate’s Kentucky 48-hour post-license course today!
VIEW POST-LICENSE EDUCATION
Does Kentucky offer reciprocity?
Currently the only state Kentucky has an agreement with is Ohio.
Ohio real estate professionals wishing to obtain a Kentucky real estate license:
- Must have an active Ohio salesperson license for at least one (1) year immediately preceding the time of application.
- Must affiliate his/her Kentucky license with a principal broker who holds a Kentucky broker license.
- Must complete the 40-hour reciprocal license law course and submit fingerprints for a national criminal records check prior to scheduling the reciprocal license exam.
Once licensed in Kentucky, the licensee must adhere to all Kentucky licensing requirements, including completing 48 hours of post-license education courses within the first two (2) years of obtaining a license.
There is no limit to the number of QE hours that may be taken online. Students cannot receive credit for studying more than 9 hours per day, therefore, the proctored final exam will not be accessible until the 11th day after starting the course. Students must complete and turn in to their instructor a Course Practicum before they will be allowed to access the proctored course final exam. Instructions for the completion of this Practicum are included in the course.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You may need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Kentucky Real Estate Commission
Phone: (502) 564-7760
Fax: (502) 564-1538
Toll Free: 888-373-3300
Address: 500 Mero Street, 2NE09, Frankfort, KY 40601
Kentucky License Fee Schedule
Good to Know
The information provided is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board’s site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state’s requirements.
Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.