Alabama Real Estate License Requirements
How To Get Your Real Estate License In Alabama
Do you want to become a real estate agent and get your Alabama Real Estate License? Colibri Real Estate has taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Alabama, and we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Alabama real estate license requirements.
How To Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License In Alabama
Alabama State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 60 hours
Colibri Real Estate Alabama Course Hours Offered: 60 hours
Step 1. Meet Alabama real estate license requirements as outlined on the Alabama Real Estate Commission website:
- Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien or legally present in the U.S
- Be at least 19 years old
- Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S
- Show proof of high school graduation or the equivalent
- Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude
- Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two (2) years
Step 2. Complete an approved 60-hour Alabama real estate pre-license course.
Step 3. Pass the real estate licensing examination by earning a score or 70% of higher.
Step 4. Submit an application for an Alabama Temporary Salesperson’s license.
Step 5. Complete the required 30-hour post-license course.
Step 6. Submit an application for an Alabama Permanent Salesperson’s License.
How long does it take to get an Alabama real estate license?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get an Alabama real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 60 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process and post-license course, and application processing times.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Alabama?
All Colibri Real Estate Courses are approved by the Alabama Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Alabama Real Estate License Exam.
Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 60-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider.
When starting the online course, students will be presented with a Pre-Course Checklist that is required to be signed electronically. The Pre-Course Checklist indicates that the student understands the licensing requirements and deadlines explained by Colibri Real Estate. The state requires that your course final exam be proctored. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here. After passing the final course exam, you will be required to sign an affidavit to verify your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.
VIEW COURSES AND PACKAGES
How do I pre-register with the Alabama Real Estate Commission?
Prior to your pre-license course exam and issuing of a license, you must pre-register with the Commission using the appropriate school link:
The unique school link for REAL ESTATE EXPRESS (000075917): https://arec.alabama.gov/apps/preregistration/%20XvOBj1BgQTkTDoyB4sZYA==
The required pre-registration expedites the exchange of information from instructors, exam providers and the state of Alabama. Once pre-registered with the Commission you will be assigned a unique ID number which will be required to schedule your state exam.
How do I complete the Alabama state licensing exam?
The salesperson examination must be taken through https://home.pearsonvue.com/al/realestate. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. Colibri Real Estate will help you prepare for the Alabama real estate licensing exam. You will learn at your own pace and get tools to set you up for success in your future career. Pass the Alabama real estate license exam the first time—or you don’t pay!
The salesperson examination must be passed within six (6) months of the end date of the appropriate pre-license course. If you miss the deadline, you must retake the course. Students will not be able to schedule the state exam until the school electronically submits verification of course completion to the Alabama Real Estate Commission.
The state requires proctoring of your licensing exam. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here.
How do I submit my application for an Alabama Temporary Salesperson’s license?
The Application for a Temporary Salesperson’s License must be submitted to the Commission within ninety (90) days of passing the appropriate state license examination. Please note this is 90 calendar days and the first day is the day the exam is passed. The exam score report and application are a combined document that will be received at the test site. All appropriate license fees and documentation for minimum age, U.S. citizenship, state residency, and high school completion must accompany the application.
Does Alabama require post-licensing education?
A person shall be required to have a temporary license issued prior to taking a post-license course. If a salesperson’s temporary license is issued on active status, the 30-hour post license course must be completed within six (6) months of licensure for active licensees. The six month period begins on the first day of the month following issuance of the temporary license and concludes on the last day of the sixth month. The state requires a proctored course final exam. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here. For inactive licensees, the 30-hour post license course must be completed within one (1) year.
Enroll in Colibri Real Estate’ Alabama 30-hour post-license course today!
VIEW POST-LICENSE EDUCATION
How do I submit my application for an Alabama Permanent Salesperson’s license?
In addition to the required 30-hour post-license course, every temporary salesperson must submit the application for an Original Salesperson License within twelve (12) months. The 12 month period begins on the first day of the month following issuance of the temporary license and concludes on the last day of the twelfth month. This deadline applies to both active and inactive licensees. The application for an original salesperson’s license can be found on the Commission’s website at www.arec.alabama.gov. Failure to submit an application and have the permanent/original license issued within the 12-month time frame described above will result in the license lapsing, and the applicant will have to begin the licensing process again with the pre-license course.
Does Alabama offer reciprocity?
If you already hold a real estate license in another state, you may obtain an Alabama reciprocal license with the following applicant requirements:
- Complete a six‐hour course in Alabama real estate law and take and pass the corresponding Alabama portion of the licensing examination
- Submit with the application an official “Certificate of Licensure” form (license history) showing you hold a current license in another state.
The certification can be obtained from the Real Estate Commission Office in that state. This certification must have been issued within 120 days of the AREC’s receipt of your reciprocal license application. Exam candidates will receive an application for licensure at the test centers upon passage of the exam. Visit the Commission website for more information on reciprocal licenses.
The state requires a minimum amount of seat time in the course content. Our online course platform monitors this requirement for each student. Students cannot receive credit for completing more than 6 hours in a course per day. At this rate, students are not allowed to complete a course in less than 11 days, therefore, the first attempt at the live, proctored, course final exam is not accessible until at least the 11th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units).
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Course is not considered complete until ALL of the following are true:
- Student has completed the course material and passed the proctored course final exam with a score of at least 70%
- Colibri Real Estate has received and accepted verification information from the proctor who administered the final exam (if not, then Grades will deny the grade), and
- Colibri Real Estate has received all required documents from the student (Licensing Process and Deadlines form)
Upon completion of the course, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You may need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
Roster Process: Once the above is confirmed, Colibri Real Estate will report your course completion to the Alabama Real Estate Commission within 3 business days. Please be sure to provide your ID number as that is required for Colibri Real Estate to report your completion.
Roster Sent: Every 1 days
Name: Alabama Real Estate Commission
Good to Know
The information provided is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Alabama Real Estate Commission. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board’s site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state’s requirements.
Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.