How To Get Your Real Estate License In Virginia

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get Virginia Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Virginia, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Virginia real estate license requirements.

30 Mandatory Hours
0 Elective Hours
30 Total Hours
Shop Courses

Here's what you need to renew your Virginia Real Estate license

The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Virginia Real Estate Board. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.

Virginia Real Estate: Broker (Pre-Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 180
Mandatory Hours: 45
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

All Broker applicants must successfully complete 4 classes of 45-hours each to total 180 hours of pre-licensing education. Each licensee must complete the Real Estate Brokerage course. In addition to the Brokerage course, licensees have the option to take 3 Broker Specific courses: Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate Law, and Real Estate Finance OR Two of the Broker Specific courses and one Broker Related course.

Courses taken to meet continuing education requirements are not acceptable for pre-license credit in Virginia.

NOTE: Any Principles of Real Estate course taken for licensure as a salesperson is not acceptable as a Broker pre-license education course.

Online Limitations

The Board does not require a notarized affidavit for the completion of a Board-approved distance learning pre-license education course.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Rosters, including the candidate photo, are submitted electronically to PSI every business day. Rosters are not submitted until information from the proctored course final exam has been verified and accepted.
Roster Sent: Every 1 days

Governing Agency

Name: Virginia Real Estate Board
Phone: 8043672426
Fax: 8045274299
Address: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, 23233

Virginia Real Estate: Broker (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 24
Mandatory Hours: 16
Elective Hours: 8
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
Education Cycle in Months: 24

Online Info

Continuing Education and Renewal Date: Every 2 years on the last day of the original license issuance month.

Hours Required by the Virginia Real Estate Board: 24 hours.
•16 mandatory hours
    o6 hours in Broker Management;
    o2 hours in Broker Supervision;
    o3 hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct;
    o2 hours in Fair Housing;
    o1 hour in Legal Updates and Emerging Trends (to include flood zone areas and the National Flood Insurance Program);
    o1 hour in Real Estate Agency; and
    o1 hour in Real Estate Contracts
•8 elective hours

Salesperson Post-Licensure Education Requirement: All active new salesperson licensees must complete a Board-approved 30-hour post-license education (PLE) curriculum within the initial year of licensure. Failure to complete the PLE curriculum within one year from the last day of the month in which the license was issued shall result in the license being placed on inactive status until the curriculum has been completed. New salespersons do not need to complete the 16-hour CE curriculum required of other salespersons. Click here for PLE curriculum.

Seat Time: The Virginia Real Estate Board requires a timing device for all online virtual classroom courses to ensure that courses cannot be completed in less time than the approved credit hours. Please note that your course will time out after several minutes of inactivity.

Required Course Notarized Affidavit: The Virginia Real Estate Board requires a licensee to file a notarized affidavit certifying compliance with the education provider’s course requirements or with the licensee's own records at the conclusion of each distance education course.

Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary but are generally 6 months after the date of enrollment.

Certificate: With few exceptions, online course completion certificates are available for download at course conclusion and posted directly to your student dashboard.

Online Limitations

There is no limit to the number of CE hours that may be completed through distance education.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Rosters are uploaded every Monday and Friday.**Please allow one to two business days for rosters to post on state's website from date of submission** **If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service. One file will be sent each day, if a license is expiring an additional roster can be sent, otherwise it will go the next day.**
Roster Sent: Every 5 days

Governing Agency

Name: Virginia Real Estate Board
Phone: 8043672426
Fax: 8045274299
Address: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, 23233

Virginia Real Estate: First Time Renewal Requirements (Post Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 30
Mandatory Hours: 30
Elective Hours: 0
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
Education Cycle in Months: 12

Online Info

Post-License Education (PLE) Curriculum
Section 54.1-2105.01 of the Code of Virginia requires all active new salesperson licensees to complete a Board-approved 30-hour post-license education (PLE) curriculum within one year of obtaining their salesperson licenses in order to remain on active status. For example, if your salesperson license was issued on January 1, 2015, you must complete all 30 hours no later than December 31, 2015.
Failure to complete these 30 hours of PLE within one year of your license issue date will result in automatic placement of your license on inactive status.

*New Salespersons must complete the 30-hour Post-License Education requirement. They do not need to complete the 16-hour Continuing Education curriculum required of other salespersons.
 

Effective as of January 1, 2019:
Beginning January 1, 2019, the 30-hour PLE program will consist of NINE courses:
1.Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights (2 hours)
2.Real Estate Law and Regulations (6 hours)
3.Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
4.Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours)
5.Agency Law (3 hours)
6.Contract Writing (6 hours)
7.Risk Management (3 hours)
8.Escrow Requirements (3 hours)
9.Real Estate-Related Finance (2 hours)

Online Limitations

The Virginia Real Estate Board requires a timing mechanism for all online courses.

The Virginia Real Estate Board requires a notarized affidavit with the completion of all distance education.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: McKissock Roster uploaded every Monday and Friday.

REX Roster uploaded every Tuesday and Friday.

**Please allow one to two business days for rosters to post on state's website from date of submission** **If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**
Roster Sent: Every 5 days

Governing Agency

Name: Virginia Real Estate Board
Phone: 8043672426
Fax: 8045274299
Address: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, 23233

Virginia Real Estate: Salesperson (Pre-Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 60
Mandatory Hours: 60
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

  1. 1. Comply with the General Virginia Real Estate License Requirements:
    • Be at least 18 years old
    • Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
  2. 2. Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Virginia
    • Complete a 60-hour course in the principles of real estate
  3. 3. Pass the State and National sections of the Virginia Real Estate Exam
    • Virginia and National exams scores are valid for one year
  4. 4. Pass a background check
    • You must  have your fingerprints taken in a PSI Testing Location
    • A complete application must be on file with the Board within 45 days or else you will have to get your fingerprints taken again for additional fees
  5. 5. File the Virginia real estate license application.Your application must be 100% accurate and complete
    • All questions answered
    • All documents and fees attached
    • Contains a background check is no older than 45 days

Online Limitations

The 60-hour Virginia Prelicense course requires a live, proctored final examination.

Access to the proctored final exam will be prohibited until pre-license students have submitted a personal photo, in compliance with security requirements of the licensing exam provider, PSI. Please see the information included in the Documents section of your course for more details.

Courses taken to meet continuing education requirements are not acceptable for pre-license credit in Virginia.

The Board does not require a notarized affidavit for the completion of a Board-approved distance learning pre-license education course.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Rosters, including the candidate photo, are submitted electronically to PSI every business day. Rosters are not submitted until information from the proctored course final exam has been verified and accepted.
Roster Sent: Every 1 days

Governing Agency

Name: Virginia Real Estate Board
Phone: 8043672426
Fax: 8045274299
Address: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, 23233

Virginia Real Estate: Salesperson (2nd license renewal or more) (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 16
Mandatory Hours: 8
Elective Hours: 8
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
Education Cycle in Months: 24

Online Info

Continuing Education and Renewal Date: Every 2 years on the last day of the original license issuance month.

Hours Required by the Virginia Real Estate Board: 16 hours.
•8 mandatory hours
    o3 hours in Ethics & Standards of Conduct;
    o2 hours in Fair Housing;
    o1 hour in Legal Updates and Emerging Trends (to include flood zone areas and the National Flood Insurance Program);
    o1 hour in Real Estate Agency; and
    o1 hour in Real Estate Contracts
•8 elective hours

Seat Time: The Virginia Real Estate Board requires a timing device for all online virtual classroom courses to ensure that courses cannot be completed in less time than the approved credit hours. Please note that your course will time out after several minutes of inactivity.

Required Course Notarized Affidavit: The Virginia Real Estate Board requires a licensee to file a notarized affidavit certifying compliance with the education provider’s course requirements or with the licensee's own records at the conclusion of each distance education course.

Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary but are generally 6 months after the date of enrollment.

Certificate: With few exceptions, online course completion certificates are available for download at course conclusion and posted directly to your student dashboard.

Online Limitations

There is no limit to the number of CE hours that may be completed through distance education.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: Rosters are uploaded every Monday and Friday.**Please allow one to two business days for rosters to post on state's website from date of submission** **If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service. One file will be sent each day, if a license is expiring an additional roster can be sent, otherwise it will go the next day.**
Roster Sent: Every 5 days

Governing Agency

Name: Virginia Real Estate Board
Phone: 8043672426
Fax: 8045274299
Address: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, 23233

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.