Nevada Real Estate License Requirements
How To Get Your Real Estate License In Nevada
Do you want to become a real estate agent and get your Nevada Real Estate License? Colibri Real Estate has taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Nevada, and we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Nevada real estate license requirements.
How To Get Your Real Estate Salesperson License In Nevada
IMPORTANT UPDATE: The Nevada Real Estate Division requires that students complete a 90-hour real estate salesperson pre-license course before they are eligible to take their state licensing exam and apply for a license. Effective October 1, 2021, the education requirement will increase from 90 hours to 120 hours. Colibri Real Estate does not grant credit for previous education and training. To avoid having to take additional hours of education, you must complete the 90-hour course and submit a complete application to the Nevada Real Estate Commission before October 1, 2021. Any applications submitted on or after October 1, 2021 must include 120 hours of education. If an incomplete application is submitted prior to October 1, 2021, it will be rejected, and the applicant will have to complete the additional education hours.
Nevada State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 120 hours
Colibri Real Estate Nevada Course Hours Offered: 120 hours
Step 1. Meet Nevada real estate license requirements as outlined on the Nevada Real Estate Division website:
- Be at least 18 years old
Step 2. Submit the original fingerprint verification form issued by an approved fingerprint vendor.
Step 3. Complete an approved 120-hour Nevada real estate pre-license course.
Step 4. Pass both the state and general portions of the real estate licensing examination by earning a score of 75% of higher.
Step 5. Submit the Nevada real estate salesperson license application.
How long does it take to get a Nevada real estate license?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Nevada real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 90 hours of pre-licensing coursework and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process, and application and background check processing times.
What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in Nevada?
All Colibri Real Estate courses are approved by the Nevada Real Estate Division. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Nevada Real Estate License Exam.
Per Colibri Real Estate policy, the 90-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The 90 hours of pre-license education consists of 45 hours of Real Estate Principles and 45 hours of Real Estate Law (which includes 18 hours of Nevada law.)
The state requires that your course final exam be proctored. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with a proctor in advance of your course final exam. Additional information on the proctoring process can be found here.
Effective October 1, 2021: Nevada will require an additional 30 hours of pre-licensing education including 15 hours or 1 college credit in contracts in real estate transaction to the extent allowed in the capacity of the licensee and 15 hours or 1 college credit in agency which must include 3 hours of foundation of relationship between broker and agents and 3 hours of risk reduction.
VIEW COURSES AND PACKAGES
How do I submit my fingerprints for the background check?
Applicants must submit the fingerprint verification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor. Fingerprints expire after six (6) months. Find a list of authorized fingerprinting vendors here.
How do I take the Nevada Salesperson licensing examination?
Candidates must go to www.pearsonvue.com/nv/realestate to make an online reservation for an examination. Those who pass one part of the examination (consisting of general and state portions) and fail the other, need to retake only the failed portion within twelve (12) months. Candidates who after twelve (12) months have not passed both portions must retake the entire examination. The state requires a score of 75% or higher to pass the exam.
How do I submit my Nevada Salesperson application?
Along with submission to the Commission proof of pre-licensing course completion and passing score on the licensing examination, applicants that hold or have held a real estate license within the past ten (10) years, in any state, must provide a certified license history issued by the state in which they are licensed. The history must be dated within ninety (90) days of your application submission date. Applicants are also required to complete the Nevada Department of Public Safety waiver form attached to the application.
Any applications submitted on or after October 1, 2021 must include 120 hours of education. If an incomplete application is submitted prior to October 1, 2021, it will be rejected, and the applicant will have to complete the additional education hours.
Does Nevada offer reciprocity?
Nevada currently has agreements with following states:
- South Carolina
- West Virginia
Along with the basic application, out-of-state applicants must include the following items:
- Certified license history dated within ninety (90) days of application submission date.
- Proof of Nevada state and general licensing exam passing scores within the 12 months before the application submission date.
- Fingerprint verification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor.
- Non-Nevada residents must submit the notarized “Consent to service of process.”
Limitations: Colibri Real Estate does not offer placement assistance. Placement in a job is not guaranteed nor promised to anyone enrolled in our program. The person signing the enrollment agreement attests with his/her signature that that person has received a copy of the current catalog and enrollment agreement, as well as read and understood the documents and that the catalog is part of the enrollment agreement.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course and verification of meeting the proctored exam requirements, Colibri Real Estate will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard. You will need to submit your certificate of completion with your license application. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.
State of Nevada Real Estate Division
Phone: (702) 486-4033
Fax: (702) 486-4275
Address: 3300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 350, Las Vegas, Nevada 89102
Good to Know
The information provided is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Nevada Real Estate Commission. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board’s site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state’s requirements.
Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.