How To Get Your Real Estate License In Mississippi

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get Mississippi Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Mississippi, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Mississippi real estate license requirements.

30 Mandatory Hours
0 Elective Hours
30 Total Hours
Shop Courses

Here's what you need to renew your Mississippi Real Estate license

The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.

Mississippi Real Estate: All (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 16
Mandatory Hours: 8
Elective Hours: 8
Renewal Cycle in Years: 2
Education Cycle in Months: 24

Online Info

Continuing Education and Renewal Date: Every two years.

Hours Required by MREC:
16 hours

• 8 mandatory hours
    o 2 hours in MS License Law
    o 2 hours in Contract Law
    o 4 hours in Agency Law
• 8 elective hours

Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary but are generally 6 months after enrollment date.
Final Exam: There is no final exam passing requirement.
Certificate: With few exceptions, online course completion certificates are available for download at course conclusion and posted directly to your dashboard account. 

Online Limitations

There is no limit to the number of CE hours that may be taken online.

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: McK CE Rosters are emailed every Tuesday. There is a 30-day deadline for submitting verification to the Commission. **If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**

REX MS Post Rosters are emailed every Wednesday. There is a 30-day deadline for submitting verification to the Commission. ** If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: Mississippi Real Estate Commission
Phone: 6013216970
Fax: 6019322990
Address: Lefleur's Bluff Tower, Suite 300 Jackson, 39211

Mississippi Real Estate: Broker (Pre-Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 120
Mandatory Hours: 120
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

Broker applicants with 12 months of sales agent experience must complete 120 hours of broker pre-licensing education. Applicants who do not have previous sales agent experience must complete 150 hours of broker pre-licensing education.

Online Limitations

No more than 8 pre-license hours may be earned in a single day

Roster

Roster Required: no
Roster Process: Rosters are not required to be submitted for QE.
Roster Sent: Every 0 days

Governing Agency

Name: Mississippi Real Estate Commission
Phone: 6013216970
Fax: 6019322990
Address: Lefleur's Bluff Tower, Suite 300 Jackson, 39211

Mississippi Real Estate: Post License Requirements (Continuing Education)

Total Hours Required: 30
Mandatory Hours: 0
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

§73-35-14.5. Temporary licenses; post-license education
• The holder of a temporary license shall not be issued a permanent
license until he has satisfactorily completed a thirty-hour post-license
course prescribed by the commission. 
• The holder of a temporary license shall complete the
entire thirty-hour course within twelve (12) months of issuance of his
temporary license; otherwise this temporary license shall automatically
be placed on inactive status by the Mississippi Real Estate
Commission. If the holder of the temporary license does not complete
the course and have his permanent license issued within one (1) year
following the first day of the month after its issuance, the temporary
license shall automatically expire and lapse. A temporary license is not
subject to renewal procedures in this chapter and may not be renewed.
• The thirty-hour post-license coursework shall be offered in no less than
fifteen-hour increments of classroom instruction. No more than eight
(8) hours may be earned in a single day.
• There shall be different content criteria for post-license education 
for salesperson licensees and for broker licensees.
• In the post-license course for salesperson licensees, a minimum of 
twenty-four (24) hours of the thirty-hour coursework shall be in the following 
subjects: agency relationships, contracts, earnest money, antitrust, fair
housing, ethics and property condition disclosure. The remaining six
(6) hours shall be in subjects intended to enhance the competency of
salesperson licensees in representing consumers, and may include the
following subjects: pricing property, environmental issues, home
inspections, leases and property management, and mortgage processes. 
• In the post-license course for broker licensees, a minimum of 
twenty-four (24) hours of the thirty-hour coursework shall be in the following
subjects: managing escrow accounts, intraoffice confidentiality, broker
responsibilities to licensees, office policies and procedures (including
agency office policies), broker agreements with licensees and
assistants and Mississippi Real Estate Commission required forms and
any other subject as the commission may, by rule, require to be
included in such course. The remaining six (6) hours shall be in
subjects intended to enhance the competency of brokers, including,
without limitation, managing agents, recruiting, retention, budgeting
and financial planning.
• The holder of an active license who has satisfactorily completed the
post-license course and whose permanent license has been issued shall
not be subject to the sixteen-hour continuing education requirement in
this chapter for the first renewal of his permanent license.

Online Limitations

There is no limit to the number of post-license hours that may be taken online. Students are given six months from their start date to complete an individual course.

No more than 8 post-license hours may be earned in a single day, therefore, the first attempt at a course final exam is not accessible until at least the 4th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units and unit quizzes).

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: McK CE Rosters are emailed every Tuesday. There is a 30-day deadline for submitting verification to the Commission. **If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**

REX MS Post Rosters are emailed every Wednesday. There is a 30-day deadline for submitting verification to the Commission. ** If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: Mississippi Real Estate Commission
Phone: 6013216970
Fax: 6019322990
Address: Lefleur's Bluff Tower, Suite 300 Jackson, 39211

Mississippi Real Estate: Post License Requirements (Post Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 30
Mandatory Hours: 30
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

§73-35-14.5. Temporary licenses; post-license education
• The holder of a temporary license shall not be issued a permanent
license until he has satisfactorily completed a thirty-hour post-license
course prescribed by the commission. 
• The holder of a temporary license shall complete the
entire thirty-hour course within twelve (12) months of issuance of his
temporary license; otherwise this temporary license shall automatically
be placed on inactive status by the Mississippi Real Estate
Commission. If the holder of the temporary license does not complete
the course and have his permanent license issued within one (1) year
following the first day of the month after its issuance, the temporary
license shall automatically expire and lapse. A temporary license is not
subject to renewal procedures in this chapter and may not be renewed.
• The thirty-hour post-license coursework shall be offered in no less than
fifteen-hour increments of classroom instruction. No more than eight
(8) hours may be earned in a single day.
• There shall be different content criteria for post-license education 
for salesperson licensees and for broker licensees.
• In the post-license course for salesperson licensees, a minimum of 
twenty-four (24) hours of the thirty-hour coursework shall be in the following 
subjects: agency relationships, contracts, earnest money, antitrust, fair
housing, ethics and property condition disclosure. The remaining six
(6) hours shall be in subjects intended to enhance the competency of
salesperson licensees in representing consumers, and may include the
following subjects: pricing property, environmental issues, home
inspections, leases and property management, and mortgage processes. 
• In the post-license course for broker licensees, a minimum of 
twenty-four (24) hours of the thirty-hour coursework shall be in the following
subjects: managing escrow accounts, intraoffice confidentiality, broker
responsibilities to licensees, office policies and procedures (including
agency office policies), broker agreements with licensees and
assistants and Mississippi Real Estate Commission required forms and
any other subject as the commission may, by rule, require to be
included in such course. The remaining six (6) hours shall be in
subjects intended to enhance the competency of brokers, including,
without limitation, managing agents, recruiting, retention, budgeting
and financial planning.
• The holder of an active license who has satisfactorily completed the
post-license course and whose permanent license has been issued shall
not be subject to the sixteen-hour continuing education requirement in
this chapter for the first renewal of his permanent license.

Online Limitations

There is no limit to the number of post-license hours that may be taken online. Students are given six months from their start date to complete an individual course.

No more than 8 post-license hours may be earned in a single day, therefore, the first attempt at a course final exam is not accessible until at least the 4th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units and unit quizzes).

Roster

Roster Required: yes
Roster Process: McK CE Rosters are emailed every Tuesday. There is a 30-day deadline for submitting verification to the Commission. **If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**

REX MS Post Rosters are emailed every Wednesday. There is a 30-day deadline for submitting verification to the Commission. ** If you need or want the roster submitted earlier than the scheduled date, there is a $10 rush fee for that service.**
Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: Mississippi Real Estate Commission
Phone: 6013216970
Fax: 6019322990
Address: Lefleur's Bluff Tower, Suite 300 Jackson, 39211

Mississippi Real Estate: Salesperson (Pre-Licensing)

Total Hours Required: 60
Mandatory Hours: 60
Elective Hours: 0

Online Info

  1. 1. Comply with the General Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements:
    • Be at least 18 years old
    • Be a resident of Mississippi when you apply for your Mississippi real estate license.
  2. 2. Complete a 60-hour real estate pre-license course - Enroll Today
    • Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Mississippi by completing 60 hours of state-approved pre-license education.
  3. 3. File your Mississippi real estate license application
    • Complete and return the Application for Resident Salesperson License.
  4. 4. Take the Mississippi real estate license exam
    • Upon notice of application approval, pass both the general and state portions of the state licensing exam. The general portion requires a minimum score of 70% and the state portion requires a minimum score of 75%.
    • Once you pass the state licensing exam, you'll receive a temporary license that will expire one year from licensing.
  5. 5. Know the costs of a Mississippi real estate license
    • The fee is $75 for the 2 examination portions, regardless if you take 1 or both examination portions. Examination retakes are $75 for 1 or both examination portions.
    • Mississippi registration fees are not refundable. Registration fees expire after one year of registering

Online Limitations

Students are given six months from enrollment to complete an individual course.

Students cannot receive credit for completing more than 8 hours in a course per day. At this rate, students are not allowed to complete a course in less than 8 days, therefore, the first attempt at the LIVE, PROCTORED COURSE FINAL EXAMINATION is not accessible until at least the 8th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units and unit quizzes).

Roster

Roster Required: no
Roster Process: Rosters are not required to be submitted for QE.
Roster Sent: Every 0 days

Governing Agency

Name: Mississippi Real Estate Commission
Phone: 6013216970
Fax: 6019322990
Address: Lefleur's Bluff Tower, Suite 300 Jackson, 39211

Good to know

Other facts and insights about completing your CE

Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.